Jags Place Six On PBC All-Academic Team

Jags Place Six On PBC All-Academic Team

AUGUSTA, Ga.  – Awaiting the Peach Belt Conference Championships that are just one week away, the GRU Augusta men's and women's outdoor track and field teams had six student-athletes named to the Peach Belt Conference All-Academic team, announced by the league office on Thursday.

The Jaguar women were represented by junior Jordan Humphrey and sophomores Aaliyah Pettway and Morgan Ryffe. The GRU women finished in the top 10 in all six regular-season meets this year – highlighted by a first-place finish at the Savannah State Eye Opener.

The men saw senior Matthew Johnson, junior Preston Jones, and Dustin Ross earn the academic accolade for men's track and field. The Jags have competed in six team meets in the regular season so far and they have finished in the top 10 in every single one. They also have a No. 28 national ranking according to the United States Track and Field Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).



Jordan Humphrey   Georgia Regents     Jr.            Suwanee, Ga.          3.88                         Kinesiology

Aaliyah Pettway     Georgia Regents     So.           Lithonia, Ga.           3.70                         Kinesiology

Morgan Ryffe         Georgia Regents     So.           Columbus, Ga.         3.60                         Foreign Languages



Matthew Johnson   Georgia Regents     Sr.            Buford, Ga.              3.32                         Communications

Preston Jones          Georgia Regents     Jr.            Columbus, Ga.         3.88                         Chemistry

Dustin Ross             Georgia Regents     Grad.       Rifle, Colo.              4.00                         Kinesiology


Founded in 1991, the Peach Belt Conference is home to 33 NCAA Division II National Championships. Fourteen member institutions in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida and Alabama compete in 15 championship sports. The PBC team has nine track & field programs competing in the league, four of those associate members.  2014-15 track programs are Alabama-Huntsville, Clayton State, Columbus State, Florida Tech, Georgia Regents, Montevallo, Nova Southeastern, Shorter and UNC Pembroke.

See a full list of the women's all-academic team by clicking here

See a full list of the men's all-academic team by clicking here

Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow GRU Athletics at www.jaguarsroar.com and receive short updates on Facebook at GRU_Jaguars and on Twitter at @GRU_Jaguars.