Fields Named First Team All-PBC

Fields Named First Team All-PBC

FOLLOW ON              FACEBOOK                TWITTER                    INSTAGRAM


AUGUSTA, Ga. – Augusta University men's basketball senior Tamyrik Fields has been named first team Peach Belt All-Conference for his performance throughout the 2017-18 season. The PBC released the 2017-18 men's basketball All-Conference team Wednesday afternoon.


Francis Marion's Detrek Browning was named the PBC Player of the Year, while UNC Pembroke's Akia Pruitt is the Defensive Player of the Year, and Georgia College's Jordan Thomas the Freshman of the Year. Clayton State's Jimmy Link was named the Coach of the Year.


Fields finished the season ranked second in the league in points (518), points per game (18.5 ppg), and field goals (226-for-420) while leading the Jaguars in scoring. He scored in double figures 25 times this season and he broke 30 points three times – including his career-high 34 points on Jan. 20 against Georgia Southwestern. Fields averaged 5.0 rebounds per game and shot 54 percent from field-goal range.


The senior from Augusta, Ga., Fields became the 29th player all time to break 1,000 career points and he finished his four-year career with 1,214 points to rank 19th all time for AU in scoring.


The 2017-18 All-Conference team is listed below, as selected by the league's head coaches.  The first team was increased to six players due to a tie in the voting. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.


2017-18 PBC Men's Basketball
All-Conference Team

First Team
Detrek Browning, Francis Marion
Doniel Dean, USC Aiken
Tamyrik Fields, Augusta
Nigel Grant, UNC Pembroke
Nathan Powell, Clayton State
Jaylen Taylor, Clayton State


Second Team
Jacori Payne, Columbus State
Akia Pruitt, UNC Pembroke
R.J. Sessions, Georgia Southwestern
Brandon Watts, UNC Pembroke


Third Team
Shaquan Cantrell, North Georgia
Vaughn McCall, Flagler
Brandon Parker, Francis Marion
Rahu Purdie, Lander
Marcus Terry, USC Aiken


PBC Elite 15 Award Presented by EAB
Vlad Cobzaru, Augusta


Mike & Amy Wood Foundation Scholarship
Vlad Cobzaru, Augusta


Player of the Year
Detrek Browning, Francis Marion


Defensive Player of the Year
Akia Pruitt, UNC Pembroke


Freshman of the Year
Jordan Thomas, Georgia College


Coach of the Year
Jimmy Link, Clayton State


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags


-- 30 --