Windle Named Second Team All-Conference

Windle Named Second Team All-Conference

Junior Rachel Windle named to 2016 PBC Volleyball All-Conference Team

AUGUSTA, Ga. – Augusta University junior Rachel Windle was named to the 2015 Peach Belt Volleyball All-Conference Team as a second-team member for her performance in the 2015 season.

In her first year as a Jaguar, Rachel Windle (Port St. Lucie, Fla.) ranked sixth in the conference with a .292 attack percentage. Windle was also seventh in blocks (86) and eighth in assisted blocks (75) in the league. She led the Jaguars with 298 kills (2.50 kps) and blocks.

Windle played in all 33 matches and started in 31 of them. She posted 22 assists, 20 aces, and 143 dig in her first year in the PBC.

The PBC announced the All-Conference team at a banquet in Aiken, S.C., the site of the PBC semifinals and finals. USC Aiken's Ashley Diedrich was named the PBC Player of the Year for a second straight season while her coach, Glenn Cox, was named the Coach of the Year. 

Flagler's Tara Savisky was named the Co-Freshman of the Year and co-Setter of the Year. Georgia College's Taylor Svehla was also a co-Freshman of the Year while Montevallo's Briana Marquez a co-Setter of the Year. Landers Julia Ferreira-Alves was named the Libero/Defensive Specialist of the Year.

For the full PBC release click here


2015 PBC Volleyball
All-Conference Team

First Team
Tarryn Angermeier, Lander
Kristy Bohan, Montevallo
Sara Davis, Flagler
Ashley Diedrich, USC Aiken
Anna McGee, Armstrong State
Rebekah Phelps, Montevallo
Emily Wylie, Armstrong State

Second Team
Caroline Boone, Francis Marion
Megan Hooks, Flagler
Briana Marquez, Montevallo
Alexzandra Reed, Francis Marion
Tara Savisky, Flagler
Katie Toman, USC Aiken
Rachel Windle, Augusta University

Elite 15 Award Presented by GradesFirst
Rebekah Phelps, Montevallo

Co-Setters of the Year
Briana Marquez, Montevallo
Tara Savisky, Flagler

Libero/Defensive Specialist of the Year
Julia Ferreira-Alves, Lander

Co-Freshmen of the Year
Tara Savisky, Flagler
Taylor Svehla, Georgia College

Player of the Year
Ashley Diedrich, USC Aiken

Coach of the Year
Glenn Cox, USC Aiken

Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AUG_Athletics.

-- 30 --